clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Griffin, Self win top AP honors

It's awards season for college basketball, and right now the Big 12 is leading the way in collecting hardware.  Blake Griffin took home AP POY honors, surprising few, and Bill Self was named AP Coach of the Year for leading the Jayhawks to a fifth straight Big 12 title and Sweet 16 berth; all after completely revamping a program that won the national title last season.

Griffin recieved 66 of the 71 first place votes, as Tyler Hansbrough and Dejuan stole the other four.